THE BOND

Young Adult, Fiction

The first in a trilogy, The Bond takes place in a world controlled by a matriarchy that genetically engineers its children and all but enslaves its men. Fifteen-year-old Dinitra has graduated from her school in the Weave and is forced to start her new life as part of the fearsome Legion. Dinitra is convinced the woman who engineered her made a mistake. But…

award winning Author

Robin Kirk

Robin Kirk has published essays in The New York Times, Mother Jones, and The Washington Post. She has published three non-fiction books. She holds an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She teaches at Duke University. The Bond is her first novel.

"A rollicking adventure story whose underlying questions make for a read that is as thought-provoking as it is highly entertaining."

– Carolyn O’Doherty, author of Rewind

“Fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Never Let Me Go will devour The Bond.”

– Lisa Williams Kline, award-winning author of One Week of You

“An adventure and a masterful exploration of what it means to be a human being.”

Constantine Singer, author of Strange Days

“Kirk brings the reader into an intricate, well-imagined world—a landscape so credible it instantly feels like a classic.”

– Beth Kander, author of Original Syn

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, JANUARY 8, 7:00 p.m.

Book Release Party • The Regulator Bookshop, Durham, NC

The Regulator celebrates the launch of Robin Kirk’s new book, The Bond, the first volume in a young-adult fantasy trilogy. Please join us!
“In the end, this is a book about a girl and her dog. But it is the best book about a girl and her dog that I've ever read. It also has hovercraft, mutants, and a corrupt dictatorship. Science fiction fans can't go wrong here.” -- Katie Rose Guest Pryal, author of The Life of the Mind Interrupted.

* Photo: regulatorbookshop.com

Blog

Hush, hush sweet Charlotte

The click was ominous. Parked between Geer Street Garden and Motorco, my daughter’s blue Ford Focus wagon refused to start. I’d given her the car as a college graduation present, fulfilling a family tradition of passing down beaters. Hoopties. Wrecks. Clunkers. Heaps....

Waiting at the DMV

I will say this for the Department of Motor Vehicles: everyone suffers. When I’ve had to visit one of our state’s 113 drivers license offices, I’ve noticed how every element seems designed to diminish us. You might be a multi-billionaire or just out of prison (or...

A dark side of summer vacation

With summer vacation in full swing, I’ve been thinking a lot about what makes an ideal vacation. First, it’s important to determine which side of the vacation divide you’re on: familiarity or novelty? There are those (and I’ve been in this camp) who return to the same...

Contact Publisher

Katie Pryal
contact@bluecrowpublishing.com

Contact Author

Robin Kirk
robinkirk13@gmail.com

Join My Newsletter

For regular updates, please sign up for my newsletter. Subscribers will receive a taste of the next book in “The Bond” series, A Fateful Haven, and follow Fir and his brothers as they escape east.