THE BOND

Young Adult, Fiction

The first in a trilogy, The Bond takes place in a world controlled by a matriarchy that genetically engineers its children and all but enslaves its men. Fifteen-year-old Dinitra has graduated from her school in the Weave and is forced to start her new life as part of the fearsome Legion. Dinitra is convinced the woman who engineered her made a mistake. But she soon discovers that all is not what it appears to be. The Bond is the Foreward Reviews 2018 Indies Bronze Award winner and a finalist in The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation’s 2019 Manly Wade Wellman Award for North Carolina Science Fiction and Fantasy.

award winning Author

Robin Kirk

Robin Kirk has published essays in The New York Times, Mother Jones, and The Washington Post. She has published three non-fiction books. She holds an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She teaches at Duke University. The Bond is her first novel.

"A rollicking adventure story whose underlying questions make for a read that is as thought-provoking as it is highly entertaining."

– Carolyn O’Doherty, author of Rewind

“Fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Never Let Me Go will devour The Bond.”

– Lisa Williams Kline, award-winning author of One Week of You

“An adventure and a masterful exploration of what it means to be a human being.”

Constantine Singer, author of Strange Days

“Kirk brings the reader into an intricate, well-imagined world—a landscape so credible it instantly feels like a classic.”

– Beth Kander, author of Original Syn

Carolinas SCBWI

September 27-29

Thrilled to be joining other kidlit writers in Charlotte with SCBWI.

Click Here

Blog

Appreciation vs. Appropriation

The conversation over cultural appropriation is necessary, long in coming, and deeply fraught. By their nature artists, including writers, absorb and incorporate many things into their work. Groups and cultures do this, too. Journalist Nadra Kareem Nittle notes that...

July newsletter

I spent June completing revisions on Book II, tentatively scheduled for next year. My days started early (5 am) and often ended quite late, a marathon of character development, pacing adjustments, and plot connections. I immersed myself so deeply in my story that I...

Serious in Seoul

When I learned that I had been accepted to a month-long writing residency at Seoul Arts Center-Yeonhui, I prepared by learning as much as I could about the city and South Korea. What I couldn’t prepare for was meeting one of the world’s most interesting and prolific...

Contact Publisher

Katie Pryal
contact@bluecrowpublishing.com

Contact Author

Robin Kirk
robinkirk13@gmail.com

Join My Newsletter

For regular updates, please sign up for my newsletter. Subscribers will receive a taste of the next book in “The Bond” series, A Fateful Haven, and follow Fir and his brothers as they escape east.